Gaming Gendered?

The question is whether or not gaming is gendered and whether a girl would feel slighted by being forced to look at gaming spaces.

Personally, I do think that the gaming world is gendered, not to say that’s a horrible thing though.  I just feel it’s the nature of the of the gaming.  First of all, males are naturally more competitive so the companies that fuel the gaming world are most likely going to be targeting some age group of males.  Although the majority of games would appeal to males, there ARE games that are directed towards females or games that are fun for both. 

First off, a guys point of view.  I know that I’ve enjoyed looking at gaming spaces a lot.  Whether it’s a game that I play all the time or even if it’s something I’ve never heard of before, looking at gaming spaces has been a new and very interesting aspect of literature.  It’s relevant, fun, and I hope that everybody can have an open mind when looking at these spaces.

Next, the female point of view. Even with what I’ve said about gaming being gendered I would hope that most females don’t feel slighted when we look at gaming spaces.  I understand that it may not interest girls as much as guys but it’s something different.  How many times have been angry because you feel like you do the same thing in school over, and over, and over again.  That’s my point here, not only is gaming new and interesting, it’s becoming more and more relevant in the 21st century. 

I’ll look at one more point of view, that of the slighted female.  While I hope that males AND females can have an open mind when looking at gaming spaces, I completely understand while one or two girls may feel  a little weird about it.  These are the girls that havn’t played a lot of video games throughout their life and feel like it’s a waste of time.  They think that gaming is completely male oriented and that it’s not relevant to them.  That is where they are wrong.  Even if you’ve never played a game in your life, there is always something for EVERYONE to learn when we look at gaming spaces.

In this day and age, literature is becoming more and more digital and we have to be ready for that trend to continue.  Looking at gaming is a great way to look the way our literature is always growing and changing and what we can do to adapt.  I’m thankful that we’ve had the chance to take a look at gaming spaces and I hope we can continue to study them.  Unless of course, there is a slighted female in the class.

One Response to “Gaming Gendered?”

  1. kaylabeth12 Says:

    Kevin,
    I totally agree with you’re point of view on the gaming gender thing. I really don’t think that gaming is gendered towards males either, but I can see where some girls might feel slighted when it comes to gaming. Since I grew up with Sega and Nintendo 64 I have always loved gaming. I think it has to do with the fact that I had a younger brother too. We’re not that far apart in age so I think that is another factor. I can see if a girl doesn’t have a brother or didn’t get into gaming at a young age then they would feel slighted when dealing with all this gaming stuff. However, like you said, it’s an experience and it’s learning. If girls look at it like a learning experience then they can actually have some fun with gaming.

Leave a Reply

