Seq. 3 ideas

As of right now I have a couple of ideas for the sequence 3 project. 

 

My first thought was to write about my own personal gaming identity throughout my lifetime.  I’ve been playing video games since I was about seven and have been hooked ever since.  The first system I owned was Nintendo 64, then I switched to a Playstation 2 when the new age of consoles came out.  As of now, I currently own a Xbox 360 and play Xbox Live a lot.  My Xbox Live identity is what I was thinking about.  My gamertag is KYircott23 and people know a lot about your gaming identity by looking at your gamer score and what kind of games you play.  I was thinking about how my personal gaming identity has changed through the years from playing Diddy Kong Racing and Mario Cart on N64, to the games I play on Xbox Live today.

My second idea was going to be the new option, forming a webtext about a hot topic in gaming.  If I go with this option I was planning on discussing the example topic; the relevance of violence in the games Grand Theft Auto and Halo.  Many people claim that playing these games promotes violence and can even cause kids to partake in violent acts.  I’m an avid supporter that these games do not have a real correlation to actions of those kids.  Many other factors can influence a child’s behavior including where they live/were brought up, the economic status of those families, and most importantly, the parents actions and beliefs.

As of now, I think that I’m going to go with the first idea.  I feel that I would be able to discuss the evolution of my personal gaming identity a lot better than anything else.  There are definitely lessons to be learned with the participation of gaming at a young age.  It even includes the topic of violence.  I know that there is a lot of information out there regarding my second option but no matter how you look at it, it’s still a matter of opinion.  With using the first idea I would be able to include a lot more facts and build off my personal experiences. 

Leave a Reply

